A New Orkney Anthology

This anthology is a reflection of 2007 – a year’s worth of creative writing in Orkney – produced during the first GMB writing fellowship.

It captures the breadth of skill and experience amongst writers all over Orkney, and some who visited during the year, from London, Edinburgh and Shetland, to give readings and workshops.

First published in 2008 by The George Mackay Brown Writing Fellowship in association with Orkney Museums and Heritage, Orkney Islands Council.

Compiled and edited by Pamela Beasant.


Cover design and page layout by Iain Ashman

Images by: Erlend Brown (cover image), Rik Hammond, Rebecca Marr (Art and Agriculture – Artist in Residence, 2007), Christil Trumpet (Papdale Primary School Artists in Residence, 2006/7) and Lars Abrahamson

Printed by The Orcadian Ltd, Hell’s Half Acre, Hatston, Kirkwall, Orkney, KW15 1DY

ISBN 978-954-8862-91-2

Price: £10

A New Orkney Anthology


John Aberdein
Alex Ashman
Freda Bayne
Pamela Beasant
Frances Bell
Galen Brown
Diana Clay
Elizabeth Coward
Christina De Luca
John Edmondson
Mike Fairbairn
Bill Ferguson
Ron Ferguson
Alison Flett
Becky Ford
Clare Gee
Yvonne Gray
Emma Grieve
Annie Harcus
Sylvia Hays

Sally Heddle
Ella Henderson
Diana Hendry
Jim Hewitson
Fran Flett Hollinrake
Laureen Johnson
Lynn Johnson
Dave Linklater
LC Littlejohn
Ian McDonough
John McGill
Fiona MacInnes
Morag MacInnes
Lesley McLeod
Jennifer MacRae
Gordon Marriott
Paul Maxton
Dorrie Morrison
Andrew Motion
Alistair Peebles

Andrew Philip
Joanna Ramsey
Olive Ritch
Cathy Scott
KK Scott
Sinclair Scott
Doreen Sinclair
Margaret Storr
Anne Thomson
Roderick Thorne
Kate Townsend
Helga Tulloch
Laura Watts
Nigel Wheale
Hamish Whyte
Bill Wilson